Indie Author Spotlight Featuring Ash Oldfield

Genre: YA Fantasy
About Ash Oldfield

Ash Oldfield is a fantasy fiction and children’s writer from Melbourne, Australia. She is the author of The Rachaya Series and has several short works of fiction in various publications.
When she is not working on her latest piece of fiction, Ash enjoys drinking good coffee, taking her dog for walks on the beach and hanging out with her two cats.


To get to know the author better, we asked Ash, a quick round of questions, and here are her answers:

Q1: What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

A: My latest book was Heart of Dragons, the final book in my YA Fantasy series about dragons. I was inspired to write a story about dragons after my visit to Wales, where there were dragon statues everywhere.

Q2: What are five words that describe your writing process?

A: Methodical, manic, flexible, exhausting, researched.

Q3: What authors, or books, have influenced you?

A: Anne Bishop’s “Black Jewels” series and authors Maggie Furey and Cecilia Dart-Thornton were hugely influential to my writing.

Q4: What is the first book to make you cry?

A: Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery.

Q5: Is writing your full-time career? Or would you like it to be?

A: I worked full time as a writer for 6 years, while tutoring on the side. Now I share writing with being a full-time parent.

Q6: What is the best advice you have ever heard?

A: Finish what you started, even if you know it isn’t any good. You will learn from the experience, and once you know you can finish, it gets easier to repeat the process.

Q7: What is your favourite genre to read?

A: Fantasy.

Q8: Do you have any writing quirks?

A: I have to write all my first drafts by hand, complete with the perfect paper and the perfect pen. I think differently when I type and lose the thread of my thoughts too easily.

Q9: What are you working on now?

A: I am currently writing an adult Fantasy stand-alone novel that is a modern take on a story from Welsh mythology in the Mabinogion.

Q10: What are you currently reading?

A: I am heavily in research mode, so I am reading lots of books on mythology at the moment. I am also reading as many indie authors as I can, such as Julia Blake, G.R. Thomas and Shayla Morgenstern.


Books by Ash Oldfield

Fyrebyrne Island: Book 1 of the Rachaya Series

“With a thunderous roar it fell from the sky, all gleaming yellow scales, talons the size of broad swords with fanged teeth to match, wings held out from its sides like sails, magnificent and glorious.”

The time has come for thirteen-year-old Rachaya to embrace her dragon heritage. Not everyone is pleased by her arrival on the dragon sanctuary, Fyrebyrne Island, however, and her mother’s enemies may well have become her own.

Will Rachaya live long enough to take on the mantle of Queen of the Dragons or will her enemies prevail?

Amazon USAmazon UK Goodreads


The Lost City: Book 2 of the Rachaya Series

“You play a dangerous game, dragon, you and all your friends. I will not forget that you have spurned my advice and refused to meet with me in parley. You will come to rue this day, of that I can be certain.”

Rachaya is well on her way to becoming a fully-fledged dragon and she is determined that when the time comes, she will also be a queen that her people can be proud of. But when dangerous secrets surface from the past, Rachaya realises she is running out of time to help her people return to the fierce, powerful and proud dragons that they once were.

Amazon USAmazon UK Goodreads


Heart of Dragons: Book 3 of the Rachaya Series

“I am Rachaya, Queen of the Dragons, Most Sacred Monarch, and Empress of Escoria.”

When the dragons’ home was destroyed, their queen, Rachaya, promised to lead them to the ancient dragon city of Parazen. The problem is, Rachaya does not know where this city is and even if she did, her deadly wizard enemy wants her to find it so he can destroy it and the dragons once and for all. Does Rachaya have what it takes to defend her people and their home? Does she truly have the heart of dragons?

“Heart of Dragons” is the final instalment of The Rachaya Series, a story of magic, friendship and hope.

Amazon USAmazon UKGoodreads



To WIN a Paperback of Fyrebyrne Island, Book 1 of the Rachaya Series. Follow Ash on any or all of her social media platforms links provided below and then comment when done. All entries will be verified, and the winner will be picked randomly and notified directly.

*The giveaway closes Sunday 1st August.


Thank you, Ash, for participating, and we look forward to following you on your author journey and wish you every success going forward.


If you’d like to keep up to date with Ash, you can find details on her website and her social media links below.

2 thoughts on “Indie Author Spotlight Featuring Ash Oldfield

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: